Evolution of Eid Desserts | What I made for Eid

Last ramadan my cousin asked me “Eid er jonno ki banachho? (What are you making this Eid?” and I replied “Oh I haven’t decided yet but I guess I’ll bake something from the new Nigella Lawson book that I got.” Hearing that she paused for a while and said, “I meant, what clothes are you making Zymin apu.” I think that gives you an idea of how excited I get about baking something (something new) for Eid!

IMG_20170625_132112

As this year’s Eid draws to a close and I’m left with no desserts but a lot of leftover whipped cream (not complaining though, I love whipped cream!), here is a little roundup of all the desserts I’ve baked over the years for Eid and the inspiration/stories behind them.

Eid ul Azha 2014: Strawberry Tuille Cannolis and Petit Fours

Eid 2014 -to post

Right before that Eid, I had gathered the courage and cash to splurge (I was a student back then) on my first baking book called Baking with Julia from a bookstore in New Market, Dhaka. Therefore, needless to say I was really eager to try out something from that book. So I made one of the easiest recipes from it named Strawberry Tuille Cannolis. They consist of crispy, thin wafers bent into the shape of a cannoli (little tubes) and filled with strawberry buttercream. In case these didn’t work out I also prepared some Petit fours as backup. However, they did and everyone loved it!

Eid ul Fitr 2015: Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ganache and Swiss Meringue Butter cream

Eid 2015 -final 2

Cutting a clean slice is always such a delight!

That Eid, I wanted to come up with a simple cake that would win people over with it’s taste. I wanted to work with the simplest of elements and make it all taste great together and so I did. Β Also, it was one of my first attempts at a drip cake as you can see :3

2015 cake final

First attempt at a drip cake

Eid ul Azha 2015: Marble Bundt cake with Cream Cheese Glaze

Eid'15_1

How do you make a cake look beautiful on it’s own? Bake the cake in a Bundt Pan! Want to make the inside look attractive too? Make the said cake a marble cake!

Want to make the whole thing irresistible? Pour some Cream Cheese Glaze over it!

Eid15_2

Eid ul Fitr 2016: Blueberry, Strawberry and Vanilla Ice cream cake and Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese frosting.

Eid16_1

Note to self- to avoid such wrinkles, wrap the clingfilm around the ice cream more neatly

I went for the, one experimental and one safe dessert route again. It was also because I was not sure if one ice cream cake would feed my huge family.

I basically created the ice cream cake of my dreams. I followed this recipeΒ but this time I used my favourite flavors of Igloo Icecream, Vanilla, Strawberry and Blueberry Yogurt with a layer of Blueberry Jam in between. While it tasted just as indulgent as it sounds, popular opinion was that due to there being 3 flavours, none of it stood out and I agree. So next time I make this ice cream cake, I’ll probably use Vanilla and Blueberry only along with the Blueberry jam.

This year, my safe dessert was quite similar to my 2014 Eid Cake except I used Cream Cheese Frosting instead of Swiss Meringue Buttercream and the chocolate ganache went inside the cake layers instead of on top. Also, check out my super cool dinosaur printed serving plate!

Eid16_3

Eid ul Azha 2016: Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

Eid16_3

My Eid dessert planning, this year centered around this dessert stand I had bought and was obsessed with. Therefore, instead of making dessert the star of the show, I made a a mixture of sweet and savoury tidbits similar to resemble something like “a British afternoon-tea.”

The savoury items were Mushroom Quiche and Cheese, Salami and Cucumber Shashlik and the sweet items were Red Velvet Whoopie Pies, Chocolate Chunk Cookies, Shortbread cookies,Mini cakes and Kheer. It was my first time making Whoopie pies and to be honest, it’s nothing special. The next time I want a bite sized dessert I’ll go for mini cupcakes rather than these. The star of the show this time was surprisingly the Mushroom quiche!

Eid ul Fitr 2017: Mango and Whipped cream filled Napoleons

Eid17 copy

This year, I wanted to take it easy, on myself, on my family and on my refrigerator :p Mainly, because I had baked so much in the days leading up to Eid ( it was my brother’s birthday, father’s day and my birthday in the month of June) that it was safe to say my sweet-loving family would not be pleased to hear of another cake and my refrigerator which was already filled with various leftover desserts would not be able to store another one.

I decided to go for a dessert that would be light on the stomach and storage. After some searching I found that I wanted to make a Mille Feuille of sorts. However, I was not sure if I could find pre-made Puff pastry in Dhaka.Β So after a lot of searching online, reading blogs, searching Pinterest, I went back to my trusty old Baking with Julia book and found the perfect alternative- Napoleons. These, you could say are close cousins of the Mille Feuille as they use Phyllo pastry (Spring roll sheets) as base instead of Puff pastry.

IMG_20170702_221722

However, I only followed the method stated in the recipe. Instead of making Chocolate Napoleons I made the plain ones and used sliced mangoes and whipped cream as filling.

The dessert went down great and to my glee there were no leftovers! πŸ˜€

So yeah, this was the tale of my Eid in the last few years, as told through desserts. Please excuse the inconsistent photography as serving the guests always take priority over food photography on Eid days.Β Let me know which one you liked the most and feel free to knock me for recipes!

Belated Eid Mubarak dear readers!

-Z

 

Leave a Reply

