Have you ever lost your baking mojo?

Dearest Readers,

Have you ever just lost your interest in baking? – I know, it seems like an odd question coming from this blog.

I’ve became absent from the baking and blogging scene because my energies were directed elsewhere for a time. I went abroad for a master’s degree in England, and I had an absolute ball indulging in the scones (Betty’s Tea shop in York is a must visit)! Truth be told, while desserts and sweet goodies still call to me, my heart isn’t in baking the way it used to be.

I seem to have lost my motivation. I can’t exactly pinpoint what it was that put me into this dry spell. Perhaps it was the just the laziness more than anything else. All I know is that the hours I used to spend reading recipes and watching videos online, I now spend procrastinating and researching explanations as to why I lost interest.

After a lot of aimless researching and watching episodes of Suits, a dear friend advised me that I should get off my growing bum and add some chocolate cake to it! So today, after (yes-it’s-that-many) months of not touching any of my baking supplies, I decided to make my go-to crowd pleaser, le chocolate cupcake!

2017-01-08-photo-00001152

My apologies for not putting up any process photos. All of my attention was focused on making sure this bake went without a hitch (unpracticed hands and all), and I forgot to take the snaps. Safe to say that the cupcakes were a hit (and a much-needed one at that!) as the delighted cupcake-stuffed faces lit a wee little spark of excitement again.

choc-cupcake-3

choc-cupcake-4

 

 

 

 

 

 

Getting down to it! The texture of the cake is very soft and crumbly, making it better for cupcakes than for layer cakes. I particularly love this batter because it gives me my two favorite qualities in a cake: the flavor is gorgeously intense, and at the same time, the texture is light and fluffy. The ganache that’s spread on top adds a bit of rich moistness to the airy cake.

choc-cupcake-1

choc-cupcake-5

I originally saw this recipe in Food and Wine (http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/moms-chocolate-cake) and I’ve tweaked it to my preferences. Some ingredients were added, but more importantly, I’ve altered the process. The original process also yields a yummylicious cake that is a bit heavier and has a caramelized sugar taste. I would most definitely recommend giving both a try (because you can never have too many types of chocolate cake).

Here’s a version that would give you up to 24 cupcakes

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 eggs, lightly beaten

5 tbsp buttermilk

  1. Melt the chocolate and the butter together in a double broiler on the stove or in the microwave.
  2.  Sift together the flour, baking power, baking soda and cocoa powder and set it aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla together until it’s light in colour (about 5 minutes on high speed). Add the chocolate mixture and mix at a low speed.
  4. Add the powders and beat until mixed.
  5. Finally, add the buttermilk and stir

Important Note: I would only recommend this cake if you have good quality baking chocolate, preferably something along the lines of Hershey’s or Nestle (semi-sweet chocolate). I purchase mine from Dhali and Didar at Gulshan 2 DCC market.

choc-cupcake-7

Dear Readers, that’s all for right now. If you have any questions or comments about the recipe please post below. Also write to me if you have ever faced the baking blues and what helped you get out of it. For me, the taste of this chocolate cake rang a fond and familiar bell.

Yours,

A.

Leave a Reply

