Fallen Frosting

Blasted little fiends these are!! But I love them.

A shout out to my beautiful friend, whose birthday we celebrated with red velvet cupcakes with fallen cream cheese frosting.

11084110_10155448402770481_4842317634178739262_oUsually cream cheese frosting is an angel, it’s quick easy, and there’s not too much room for error. You mix equal amount of cream cheese and butter in a large bowl, beating until it’s a soft pale color, then add sugar as per your preference. There’s not much that can go wrong with the recipe. Not with the recipe.

It’s only when *ahem* an inclination to daydream gets tossed into the mix. I don’t know about you, dear reader, but I have the delightfully enjoyable habit of phasing out.

*Forgive the lack of process-pictures, I was a bit distracted at the time*

So there I am, *whip whip whip* the buttery, cheesy fluff is coming along just fine, and then I add the sugar. *whip whip whip*

It’s after a few minutes of mixing (Funnily, I’m staring right into the frosting the entire time) that I realized that I’ve added the wrong sugar! The unopened packet of powdered icing sugar is sitting on the counter, looking at my disbelieving face with a ridiculous grin.

At least the crystallized sugar had the decency to look sympathetic. Hmphs.

A little panic attack followed as I noticed the teeny-tiny crystals piercing through my fluffy frosting. There was a little groan, some pacing, and a few frantic “Help! I ruined everything!” searches on Google.

The only thing that I could think of doing at that point was to keep whipping the frosting until all the sugar dissolves. Just like we do with cake batter. It should work right? Yes. Definitely. Absolutely.

No.

It didn’t work. I had crunchy cream cheese frosting. Which ended up becoming a runny mess because of the excessive whipping it had to endure. Sadly, I didn’t have enough time (or cheese) to make a new batch, so I packed up my flawed little fiends and served them to my dear, nonjudgmental friends.

1403471_10155448402505481_5896752551864880211_o

Lesson: Pay attention while baking. (What are the chances I’ll remember this one.)

*

Dear reader, lets talk about buttermilk. You’ll notice that many red velvet recipes, including the one I used (http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/red-velvet-cupcakes-with-creamy-vanilla-icing-241544 ) calls for buttermilk. Simply put, buttermilk is slightly sour milk. The acidic milk combines with baking soda to give cakes a light and tender texture, which is why substituting buttermilk for regular milk might not be the best call.

Sadly, buttermilk is a sight never to be seen in the Dhaka store, but have no fear! You can make buttermilk at home by adding tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to one cup of milk, and letting it sit for about 5 minutes.

Happy Baking!

– A

Leave a Reply

